THE PRICE OF SECURITY IS TOO HIGH

10 06 2013

Authored by William Robert Barber

Fearfulness is frequently an injudicious facilitator of imprudent action which often results in a consequence contrary to expectancy. Fear is a tool used by politicos and oppressors. Successfully exploited it always abates liberty and increases the power of government. Fear will initiate marshal law and effectively rescind individual rights in favor of authoritarian rule. In its finality fear is a grand hoax perpetrated by the knowing,  powerful, and  ambitious to psychologically flagellate the weak, intimidate the strong, and appease their affiliates.

On 9/11 terrorists attacked this nation and thousands died. And as tragic as that day was, the real tragedy was this nation’s response — the immediate curtailment of our liberties.

Today we learned that the federal government is harvesting voluminous amounts of data on Americans because “we fear another terrorist attack”. Fear has prompted an Orwellian policy of incursion, blatant disregard of the 4th amendment of the constitution, plausible intimidation, and the blessings of congress. Now it really does not take an extraordinarily high IQ to master the idea that if a government run program was secret and the essence of secrecy required limited access, how does congress judge not only its effectiveness but also its constitutional compliance?  

Well, the fear mongers have the answer, “trust me I know what I am doing and if I don’t know what I’m doing well I personally know the guy who does”.

There have been many, many, instances of government abuse, incompetence, denial, and downright unconstitutional actions. The government is managed by human beings. The very same humans that interned Japanese-Americans after looting all of their possessions, locked up American Indians in reservations, invaded Mexico, and took Panama from Columbia. I could go on but I think my point is secure.

No, I do not trust this government  — or any government for that matter — and if I want to hold my individual liberty dear, my distrust is sensible. Please name a government, any government anywhere in all of history, that has not exampled corrupt practices, incompetent management, and served some perceived self-interest over the common good.

The Patriot Act is not patriotic; it is the injudicious imprudent action of a fearful state of mind and being.  I will not cede another word from the Bill Of Rights nor surrender more of my American breed freedoms because of a possible threat from an Islamic Jihadist.   

No, federal government, you cannot limit my liberty or freedom for the sake of fearfulness!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

